What I’m Reading: The Red Queen By Philippa Gregory

I bought this book months ago when I was in Norwich and have only got round to reading it! This is the second Philippa Gregory book that I have read, the first being ‘The Other Boleyn Girl’ which is an amazing read, a MUST!

She has a whole collection of books but this one took my fancy, I should have started with ‘The White Queen’ as this is a series (The Cousin’s War) of books and ‘The Red Queen’ being the second. Β I have only just started reading it so I can’t comment too much, but what I have read I have enjoyed.

I will leave you with a synopsis and a picture of the book:

“The second book in Philippa’s stunning new trilogy, The Cousins War, brings to life the story of Margaret Beaufort, a shadowy and mysterious character in the first book of the series – The White Queen – but who now takes centre stage in the bitter struggle of The War of the Roses. The Red Queen tells the story of the child-bride of Edmund Tudor, who, although widowed in her early teens, uses her determination of character and wily plotting to infiltrate the house of York under the guise of loyal friend and servant, undermine the support for Richard III and ultimately ensure that her only son, Henry Tudor, triumphs as King of England. Through collaboration with the dowager Queen Elizabeth Woodville, Margaret agrees a betrothal between Henry and Elizabeth’s daughter, thereby uniting the families and resolving the Cousins War once and for all by founding of the Tudor dynasty.”

One thought on “What I’m Reading: The Red Queen By Philippa Gregory

Leave a Reply

